Trump Inauguration Boycott Explodes As 30 Members Of Congress Won’t Attend

Last updated on July 17th, 2023 at 09:49 pm

Since Donald Trump attack civil rights hero Rep. John Lewis, the boycott of his inauguration has grown to 30 members of Congress who will not be attending.

Will Jordan tweeted the updated list:

Every member who is boycotting Trump’s inauguration comes from a district that Hillary Clinton carried. It isn’t a surprise that the boycott has expanded in the few days after Donald Trump attacked civil rights icon, Rep. John Lewis on Twitter.

It was always a joke to think that the man who ran the most divisive campaign in decades was going to suddenly bring the country together as president. America is never going to rally around Trump, and the president-elect has done nothing to inspire the respect of those who did not vote for him.

I would expect that even more members of Congress will be announcing that they will not be attending the event on Friday. Democrats are not going to support a birther who worked to try to undermine the legitimacy of Obama’s presidency.

Republicans created these wounds and divisions in the country, and they are now going to have to live with the consequences of their cynical anti-Obama strategy.

Boycotting is the right thing to do, as it sends an immediate signal to the president-elect that he is going to get absolutely nothing from Democrats in Congress.

Copyright PoliticusUSA LLC 2008-2023