Congressman Immediately Proposes Bill To Block Trump’s Election Cyber Security Group With Russia

Rep. Brendan Boyle (D-PA) has announced that he will be introducing legislation to prevent President Trump from forming an election cyber security group with Russia.

Trump tweeted:

In a statement provided to PoliticusUSA, Rep. Boyle quickly moved to stop Trump’s efforts, “President Trump’s social media statement today that he would involve Russian President Vladimir Putin in a cybersecurity effort to ‘protect our elections’ defies any shred of basic human logic and common sense. Under no circumstances can we allow the Russian government to learn our strategy and techniques for defending our cyber security. This week during the congressional session, I will introduce legislation to prohibit the United States from participating in any type joint working group with Russia on cybersecurity efforts. Hiring Mr. Putin to protect our electoral process is like a group of homeowners hiring a security guard to protect them after that individual has broken into their homes.”

What Trump’s cyber security working group would do is provide the Russians with direct access to our election system. Putin would be able to rig future elections for the candidate of his choosing without having to go through all the hassle of hacking 50 state voting systems. Trump is proposing to hand Russia the keys to everything, which is why Congress must step in and prohibit Trump from working with Russia on any matter related to Us elections.

If the states won’t allow Trump to use his presidential powers to get control of their voter data, he is going try to use his position to get help from Russia. Congress needs to say no and shoot down Trump’s plan as soon as they come back to Washington.

Jason is the managing editor. He is also a White House Press Pool and a Congressional correspondent for PoliticusUSA. Jason has a Bachelor’s Degree in Political Science. His graduate work focused on public policy, with a specialization in social reform movements. Awards and  Professional Memberships Member of the Society of Professional Journalists and The American Political Science Association

Copyright PoliticusUSA LLC 2008-2023