136 Women Leaders Sign Statement of Support For Sen. Al Franken

136 women leaders who are current and former elected officials, non-profit board members, community leaders and members of the Minnesota Democratic-Farmer-Labor (DFL) Party have released a statement of support for Sen. Al Franken (D-MN).

Here are the statement and the list of signers, as provided to PoliticusUSA

We are longtime supporters of Senator Franken, and our support is rooted in the core values that we share. During his time in the Senate, he has been a champion for these values and a steadfast supporter of women’s rights. While we are disappointed by these allegations, we appreciate that he has apologized and is committed to regaining the trust of Minnesotans. We believe a Senate investigation into these allegations is the appropriate course of action and will continue to support the Senator throughout this process.”

List of signers:

Beverly Anderson

Marcia Avner

Tammy Teske Ausen

Karen Bachman

Amelia Holstein Bailey

Ann Barkelew

Sara Barrow

Alana Bassin

Jackie Bateman

Lauren Beecham

Margit Berg

Pam Berkwitz

Connie Bernardy, Minnesota State Representative

Katherine Blauvelt

Patricia Bloodgood

Lynn Bolnick, Former President, DFL Feminist Caucus

Terri Bonoff, Minnesota State Senator (2005-2016)

Margee Bracken

Aviva Breen

Alondra Cano

Tarryl Clark

Barb Davis

Fran Davis

Rebecca Driscoll

Judi Dutcher, Minnesota State Auditor (1995-2002)

Chris Eaton, Minnesota State Senator

Jeannie Fox Entenza

Carol Flynn, Minnesota State Senator (1990-2001)

Arvonne Fraser

Lisa Goodman, Minneapolis City Council Member

Cathy Gorlin

Joan Growe, Minnesota Secretary of State (1975-1999)

Terry Gydesen

Jocelyn Hale

Carol Hayden

Diane Hayden

Judith Koll Healy

Jessi Held

Betsy Hodges, Mayor of Minneapolis

Linda L. Holstein

Melissa Hortman, Minnesota State House of Representatives DFL Leader

Corinne Horowitz

Ember Reichgott Junge, Minnesota State Senator (1981-2001)

Phyllis Kahn, Minnesota State Representative (1973-2016)

Sylvia Kaplan

Kiki Kelley

Julia Dayton Klein

Erin Koegel, Minnesota State Representative

Suzanne Koepplinger

Mary Kunesh-Podein, Minnesota State Representative

Natalie Volin Lehr

Susan Lenfestey

Tina Liebling, Minnesota State Representative

Florence Littman

Becky Lourey

Peggy Lucas

Ellen Goldberg Luger

Kristen McMullen

Rena Moran, Minnesota State Representative

Sue Moravec, Chair, CD 2 DFL

M. Kathleen Murphy

Kathleen O’Brien, Minneapolis City Council (1982-1989)

Darin Opperman

Diane Sims Page

Sandy Pappas, Minnesota State Senator

Cheryl Poling, Chair, CD3 DFL

Patricia Torres Ray, Minnesota State Senator

Randi Reitan

Ann Rest, Minnesota State Senator

Mary Cathryn Ricker

Sheila Riggs

Jennifer Schultz, Minnesota State Representative

Nancy Schumacher

Linda Slocum, Minnesota State Representative

Nancy Speer

Cheryl Thomas

Missy Staples Thompson

Susan Thompson

Ruth Usem

Mary Vogel

Maureen Kucera-Walsh

JoAnn Ward, Minnesota State Representative

Jean M. West

Penny Winton

The Senate Ethics Committee investigation needs to play out before any decision should be made about the political future of Al Franken. If the investigation reveals a pattern of sexual harassment, Sen. Franken will either be faced with the choice of stepping down or losing his reelection campaign. Since Franken has never denied any of the allegations against him and has taken responsibility for his behavior, his future may hinge on if there are more accusers out there.

Sen. Franken has more support than every other high profile person who has been accused of sexual harassment this year, but his career may rest in the hands of the Senate Ethics Committee.

Jason is the managing editor. He is also a White House Press Pool and a Congressional correspondent for PoliticusUSA. Jason has a Bachelor’s Degree in Political Science. His graduate work focused on public policy, with a specialization in social reform movements. Awards and  Professional Memberships Member of the Society of Professional Journalists and The American Political Science Association

Copyright PoliticusUSA LLC 2008-2023